Production Information

production programme

The Royal Shakespeare Company.

Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare

The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Stratford upon Avon.

First performance of this production: 16th June 1966.


Orsino Duke of Illyria

Curio Gentleman attending on the Duke

Valentine Gentleman attending on the Duke


A Sea Captain

Sir Toby Belch Olivia's Kinsman

Maria Olivia's Gentlewoman

Sir Andrew Aguecheek

Feste Olivia's Clown


Malvolio Olivia's Steward

Fabian in Olivia's service

Antonio a Sea Captain


Servant to Olivia

First Officer

Second Officer


Alan Howard

Philip Hinton

John Bell

Diana Rigg

Daniel Moynihan

Brewster Mason

Patsy Byrne

David Warner

Norman Rodway

Estelle Kohler

Ian Holm

Tim Wylton

Godfrey Quigley

Christopher Bidmead

John Gulliver

Robert Grange

Robert Davis

Stanley Illsley


Dallas Adams

John Challis

Timothy Darwen

Frances de la Tour

Angela Down

Christopher Fagan

Brian Gwaspari

Andrew Jack

Chris Malcolm

Patricia Maynard

Peter Rocca

Louis Selwyn


Gordon Bennett

Martin Best

Geoffrey Brown

Richard Lee

David Munrow

Derek Oldfield

Robert Pritchard

Gareth Richards

Edward Watson

Robin Weatherall

Directed by

Settings and Costumes by

Music by

Assistant to the Director

Lighting by

Music played by the Royal Shakespeare Wind Band

Clifford Williams

Sally Jacobs

Guy Woolfenden

Nicholas Hutchinson

John Bradley

The first act runs for about 55 minutes; the second for about 1 hour, 10 minutes; the third for 35 minutes. There are two intervals of 12 minutes each.


Playing Shakespeare/Twelfth Night